zippity do da!*

31211138

31211151

It would be so rude of me not to share this recipe.  I’m not a big doughnut eater, but let me just tell you I put away three of these bad boys one right after the other.  Then later that same day I ate another one.  I will admit they hit your gut pretty solidly but they are irresistable.  Plus, let us remember it is the season of packing on winter fat so that we will be warm and toasty in the days to come!  That’s my version and I’m sticking to it. 

Pumpkin-Licious Doughnuts  (makes about 20 doughnuts or so)

  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 C. canned pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • 1/2 C. buttermilk
  • 1/4 C. brown sugar
  • 3 T. melted butter
  • 4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 3 C. all-purpose flour
  • vegetable oil for frying
  1. Whisk together egg and egg yolk in large bowl until frothy.   Stir in pumpkin, both sugars, buttermilk, and butter.  Then stir in the baking powder, spices, salt and baking soda.
  2. Fold flour in gradually until incorporated.  The dough will be extremely sticky.  Cover with plastic wrap and freeze for 15 minutes.
  3. After 15 minutes heat 2 inches of vegetable oil to 370 in an electric skillet, deep fryer or deep sided skillet.
  4. Pat out dough with well-floured hands on a well-floured surface to 1/2 inch thick.  Don’t bother with a rolling-pin – you will only be frustrated because the dough is so sticky.  Cut with doughnut or biscuit cutter into doughnuts, scraping up the leftovers each time and repatting to 1/2 inch thick.  Repeat til you’ve used up all the dough.
  5.  Fry doughnuts in batches in the oil until browned – takes about 3-5 minutes.  Turn them once during that time.  Drain on paper towels. 
  6. Finish them with either cinnamon sugar or glaze.  If using cinnamon sugar mixture coat them while they are still hot.  Let them cool a bit before using the glaze.  For glaze:   mix together 1/4 C. half and half or milk with 3 C. powdered sugar.  For cinnamon sugar:  1 C. sugar mixed with 1 or 2 tsp. of cinnamon.

*this is my attempt at being pollyannish about my on-line absence.  We’ve been experiencing a perfect storm around here lately – a conspiring of circumstances, a job change, lack of sunshine until this week, being at a place in therapy that is really hard work and emotionally draining, leaving me feeling raw and vulnerable like a sun-warmed marshmallow.  If you tapped me on the shoulder I would probably burst into tears.  So, I don’t know if any of you ever feel like  holing up in your house sometimes and not talking to anyone, not wanting to answer the phone, or catch yourself in the grocery store trying to avoid people you know just so you won’t have to talk.  But that’s kind of where I’ve been lately.  And rather than spew all my negativity on-line I’ve just been lying low.   So……just wanted to explain, you know just in case some of you have been really missing me as we agreed you would – because even in my absence it’s all about me!  Kidding!!  Alrighty then – get out there and enjoy those carbohydrates. 

p.s.  Cinnamon is spelled with two n’s and only one m.  Spellcheck just told me that about 5 times – remedial spelling anyone – I think I’ll go back to my hole now!

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Melinda says:

    Sending good & calming vibes in your general direction…
    The donuts look amazing btw.

  2. Melinda says:

    oh, and I didn’t know there was any way to grocery shop other than hiding behind the endcaps and avoiding as many people as possible, finishing up with a big bang as I curse at the genuinely friendly yet waaay too chatty, checker under my breath?

  3. Ayama says:

    take care and i’ll be avoiding your sinful recipe. during my post but not really be there fest, i have been stress eating as well as hiding under the quilts….

  4. ellen says:

    These goodies look scrumptious. I think I would choose “cinnammonn” and shugger.

    I do feel the same way at times and I hate it! I can totally want to hole up at home (most all of the time) and sometimes I truly want to be by myself and wish my family were on an overnight field trip. That surely can make me feel guilty and all grumpy and bad….but, it is a true and real feeling and only happens now and then. For me, I need to accept that my emotions are cyclical and when I am feeling ugly I need to accept it and take care as best I can. Does that make any sense?
    Wishing you peace and comfort. Here’s a big hug from me.

  5. omg, i just gained 10 more pounds, just looking at those damn donuts.

    i’ve been in that spot! i know exactly how you feel. let yourself wallow a bit. feel sorry for your self. eat 4 donuts a day. have a glass of wine. but go for a run in the morning, and give those endorphins a chance to do some mental good. and when you’re ready to go out, put on some kick-ass boots and hold your head high and if you don’t want to talk to anyone, just breeze on by…

  6. Diane says:

    Look over here! I’m exactly in the same place you are. Don’t say anything to me though because I’ll either sob or maybe snap. Neither would be pretty. And pass the donuts, please.

    (By the way… keep an eye on your mail box tomorrow or god forbid the next day… hope things arrive all in one piece and not nasty. That is my sincerest hope. The post office said two days and that should be tomorrow… fingers crossed…)

  7. Wowza!! I would give up all other kitchen skills in trade of making those!!
    I know all too well what you mean about the sun warmed marshmallow feelings….I told Don just yesterday that I didn’t feel like being near anyone or dealing with the blog or anything else but today was better.
    Hoping things cheer up for you, friend! xo

  8. anything with pumpkin in it can make my day better….
    these look so fabulous….and if i could cook at all, i would certainly be trying them….maybe i could pass the recipe unto my mom?
    all the best to you
    michelle

  9. Phoe says:

    I’m sorry things aren’t going as well as you’d like. But those donuts look like they’d go a ways to helping. 🙂

  10. molly says:

    oh god. i always avoid people in the grocery store. no matter my mood.

    baby girl is a lightweight, so says her MD and the damn baby charts, so i have doctor’s orders to add more fat to my diet. breastfeeding can be a v good thing. more donuts for me!

    xoxo

  11. Jan says:

    Aw, Shuggar. I’m sorry that you’re down in the mully grubs. I want you to enjoy the fall and the changing of the seasons, and enjoy all the things going on there. Sounds as if you are doing some awful hard work there and may have a bit more to do. = ( I do thank you, though, for not pretending to be all sunshine and light there. Sometimes I feel like I’m the only one who gets down because that’s all I hear. Come through it soon, friend.

    Your donuts look amazing though. If I weren’t dieting…..again…..I might be tempted to make them.

  12. I’m too scared to hole up around here – whenever I attempt it I get unannounced visits by the in-laws and their like. Instead I just fantasize about renting a cottage by myself, with no one to bug me for 24 hours… So, I’m supposed to acknowledge those acquaintances in the grocery store, huh? No wonder they look surprised when I dive into the stacks of toilet paper when they pass.

    Please don’t publish any more tasty looking recipes. I’ve already acquired my winter fat. I like to be prepared…

  13. PS. I hope that your marshmallow phase is fleeting. Best wishes.

  14. Leslie says:

    Those look really yummy! Sorry things aren’t the best right now..I think it’s O.K. to hole up ’till you’re ready to come out! Hope it all turns around soon.

  15. I am definitely with you on the fattening up for winter theory! How else can I survive this cold? Thanks so much for sharing this recipe? I love freshly made doughnuts, pumpkin, and winter spices, so this one must be a winner!

    I hope you feel better soon!!

  16. amyks says:

    Hang in there Jackie… I’m rooting for you. And those donuts look and sound delicious.

  17. Hi, this is my first visit here, and like most blogs I find, I don’t remember exactly where I saw the link, but clicked on it…just because.

    I liked the sound of your blog’s name…”Smoothpebble.” And once I got here, OMG, there were all those donuts! Take them away from me! LOL.

    I love your blog header.

    I have sixteen blogs, seven on Word Press on nine on Blogger, and I’m always changing the look of them.

    I get antsy and I’ve been staying home to avoid shopping. I kind of went over the top last year and spent way too much money!

    Now I have a huge TBR stack of books to read!

    Hope you’ll visit me sometime. My first Word Press blog was this one:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com

    From there, you can find links to all my other blogs!

  18. kristin says:

    oh my god i just licked my laptop screen!!!!!!!

    must have some! NOW!!!

    darn you.

  19. threesneakybugs says:

    Drool……

Leave a Reply

