bee

So, Nate qualified for the Joplin Globe spelling bee.  “Grumble, grrrrrr, why do I have to be in a stupid spelling bee?”  “I don’t think Blane, or Grant tried hard enough, and that’s why I have to do it.”  “grumble, grumble, grumble….”

So, he had the spelling bee packet with all of the words listed for studying.  “grumble, grumble, I don’t want to study.”  “I don’t want to do it”  *black storm clouds enveloping his entire being*

Instead of studying he continues reading the 5th Harry Potter book in the evenings.  I figure this is one battle I’m not going to fight, and that maybe reading lots of books counts as studying.  I do tell him though that since he has read all of the Lord of the Rings books to not spell words in the Old English manner (i.e. colour or shoppe).  That is the extent of my advising.

Day of the event he is quiet and nervous.

 

His words:  practice round – statehood, 1st round – thirsty, 2nd round – tricolor, 3rd round – trauma, 4th round – accessioned, at this point kids are dropping out like flies.  He is #84 so he is among the last 13 or so kids left, and then next thing I know he is in the last three, which means he will at least get 3rd place!!  WHA????  His teacher and I are looking at each other with astonishment.

Kid #82 mispells his word meaning Nate is in the top 2!!  At that point whoever wins has to spell two words correctly in a row including whatever word the other contestant mispells.  Nate is next with phillumenist – he spells it phylumanist, but #76 mispells it and so it continues round and round a few more times.  Nate mispells onomastics which she gets right and then she spells avionics correctly.  Nate gets 2nd place!! and $75.00!!  Now guess who is really excited he got to participate in the spelling bee? : ) (well besides myself)

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Phoe says:

    Oh, congratulations to you both!

  2. Wow!! Congrats to Nate!! He is too cool and too adorable! I am SUPER impressed.
    Because I am an annoying Canadian I have to say…..
    The spelling of colour isn’t really old English…it is actually the proper modern English spelling as well except in the USA. Crazy Americans! heheh 😉
    I tease my husband that they have to make everything easier here in the USA. He gets super annoyed with me and rightfully so.
    xo

  3. gonzomama says:

    that is so awesome!
    it’s great that he didn’t really have to study, but instead enjoyed his book : )

    i love spelling bees. i admit to watching them on television.

  4. Congratulations to Nate! So I’d have been kicked out at ‘colour’, then?

    I’ve now lived here just long enough that I have trouble remembering which spelling is English and which is American…

  5. Hahahahaha! Money is one great motivator. I’m proud of him. And even more proud of you for letting him take responsibility for it himself. I wonder if it ever occurred to him that if he had studies he might have won some big $$$. Another great lesson.

  6. Lori says:

    Way to go Nate!!! What’s the plan for the $75?

  7. jen says:

    yay kiddo! way to make mom proud!

  8. MichelleB says:

    How wonderful – Congratulations! But really – phillumenist?? Avionics seems like kid’s play compared to that word! lol

  9. Leslie says:

    Woo-hoo! What fun. I think that trophy is awesome and I’ll bet Nate thinks the money is even MORE awesome. Way to go!

  10. Melinda says:

    WOoooHoOo! Trophies are cooool!
    Good job Nate!

  11. threesneakybugs says:

    Ha! That’s so cool! Of course, it looses all potential for a learning lesson on why studying is a good idea, but still, very cool.

  12. Patricia says:

    Way to go, Nate! I never got past the “a” words when studying for the spelling bee in 5th grade, so I am way impressed with Nate’s method. Wise momma!

  13. kristin says:

    sew grate!! 🙂

    you must be one proud mama

  14. Sarah says:

    You capture all the intensity and agony of a spelling bee. I will never forget how I detested them, how there was really no way to study for one, and how strange and surprising they could be. I am so thrilled your guy did such a great job! I guess you took the right approach in your coaching.

Leave a Reply

