there is no neutral when it comes to okra

I’ve been on an okra binge lately.  Every trip to the store has me buying pickled okra.  Then a few minutes ago I was looking into the cavernous and empty refrigerator and cubboards.  But upon opening the freezer – BAM – a bag of breaded okra – lunch!  Must add okra to my vegetable garden.   I’m the only one that really likes it in this household, so I’m wondering if I need to start a list of people who are on the love side of okra, and share with them.  I’m guessing if you’re on the hate side it might be because of the slime factor. : P

I know I was going to try not to complain, but the end of the school year is always crazy.  I’m getting supremely frustrated because I have creative ideas filling my brain and since I haven’t had time to get to them I keep cramming them in one on top of the other.  I think colored paper and yarn and images are going to start leaking from my eyes and ears soon.  I did post these in the shop a week or two ago.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I will definitely be on the love side unless of course it is overcooked…then not so much luvin’ goin’ on. 😉

  2. Elena McCoy says:

    I love ocra! There is ocra growing in my garden as we speak….<3 Don't feel too bad either I am the only one in my family who likes it as well…that just means we get more of it haha!

  3. ellen kelley says:

    Those images of colored paper, yearning for yarns etc. will be there when you have time, I know that. The end of the school year is madness, I agree. Life is madness at times!
    Your paper cuts are so wonderful. I would love to know how you do them and what the process is.
    My love of okra goes deep. We used to grow it eons ago when we lived in Gawga. It does not do as well here, but just let me say that I would indulge in an Okra Orgy with you any time. Yumms!

    I have written a horrendous, inane Haiku to okra just for you.

    Furry green fingers
    Dancing in sizzling hot pan
    Joy in small package

  4. ellen kelley says:

    …..well, phooie..I tried to type out my masterpiece so that it was correctly balanced and it was, but it didn’t work once I hit the Submit button. So here’s another one:

    Symbols fall on page
    Cyber winds blowing intent
    Patterns die with light

    tee hee, give it up Ellen, the Haiku Hyena.

  5. Mmmmmm! I love okra! Sadly, it doesn’t grow in these parts, so it’s something I get to enjoy on rare trips home only. I’m jealous!

  6. I guess I’m on the “no” side of okra…unless it is battered and deep fried. Of course, anything is tasty if it is battered and deep fried. I can’t say I’ve ever had an okra that I liked otherwise. This is from a vegetable LOVER too. Okra is like the liver of vegetables. ; ) jan

  7. simpledaisy says:

    I have never had okra…..I’ve tried just about every vegetable out there except okra.
    I think it’s time I give a whirl:)

  8. just found you this morning from painted fish.
    yesterday for mothers day, my mom made me her famous middle eastern okra and tomato stew. it is the best. spiced with cinnamon and allspice and served over rice. yum. my husband tries to be open minded and eat some, but he can’t keep up with me and my mom! love it!

    your photos are gorgeous!

  9. Leslie says:

    Okra for me must be breaded in cornmeal and fried very crispy! I love the work you’ve been putting into your shop…hopefully you’ll find more time to craft once school is over?!

Leave a Reply

