hazel.

 

This is our new dog, Hazel.  We haven’t had a dog for two years.  The boys had requested a dog off and on ever since our beloved Golden Retriever, Java, died.  We just could not bring ourselves to get another dog.  And before you think it was because we were so in love with Java that we couldn’t bear to replace him – let me set the record straight.  We did not want the HASSLE of another dog.  We already have two cats, one rat, and three fish.  We already can’t keep our schedules straight.  We already have a house and yard that suffer from neglect.  Java helped us to understand that dogs get into the neighbor’s trash, keep people up at night with their barking, dig holes, chew things up, poop in other people’s yards, need attention, sometimes don’t listen or mind.  The turning point however, was when I was looking through a closet and came across some “wishing” ornaments from Christmas.  They are hollow metal Christmas ornaments that came with little pieces of paper on which to write wishes and then put in the ornaments.  We had all written wishes and put them in the ornaments before we packed them up post-Christmas.  My curiosity got the better of me and I peeked into the boys’ ornaments.  Every single one of them wished for a dog without consulting each other.  They could be denied no longer – not by me anyway!

So, we picked Hazel out at the pound.  She’s been with us for three weeks, and is really the sweetest dog ever.  Mostly house-broken, but I really don’t have a clue how to train her.  Therefore, I am at the moment immersed in Tao of Puppies:  how to raise a good dog without really trying.  Trying to empty my mind and think like a dog.  Learning about Wu Wei, and Effortless Effort.  Becoming the alpha dog, and establish a greeting ritual.  Tuning out your mocking laughter! : )

10 Comments Add yours

  1. applecyder says:

    awe, hazel. you are beautiful. my kids are begging for you too.

  2. gonzomama says:

    beautiful name for a beautiful dog! you are one sweet momma to peek at those wishes and make them come true.

  3. Patricia says:

    I wouldn’t have been able to resist those beautiful eyes of hers! J, you’ve raised three great boys, how different can a DOG be? (hee hee)

  4. sara says:

    Oh, Hazel is just GORGEOUS.

    My husband and I adore our dog, Mosca, an 8-year-old border collie. He’s the best dog a family could want: quiet, patient with the toddler, playful with the cat, snuggly, and sweet. oh, and housebroken 😀

    But every time we plan a trip or a move, Zach vows that we will never have another dog. I don’t know if I could go without. I LOVE having a dog…he warms my heart and homelife and makes going to the beach an adventure Every Time. Good luck with Hazel, she looks like a smart one who will figure things out with her new pack of boys, lucky dog.

    Glad to see you back! Hope you had a lovely summer.
    Sara

  5. melinda says:

    … “become the alpha dog, establish a greeting ritual…” perhaps I’ve just discovered the essential problem with my parenting for the last 17 years?…

    oh, and I love the header btw!

  6. She’s so beautiful. I wish my mum had been such an easy pushover as you. For my entire childhood I begged for a dog.

    As for now, we’ve got two golden retrievers – each as opposite to the other as they can be, except when it comes to loving. My kids have finally grown into them, but the dogs are getting to be old now. I don’t know if we will replace them when they pass away, but I know that I am going to be a mess when it happens.

  7. Rachel says:

    such a sweet looking dog… I’m sure she is grateful to you for rescuing her from a shelter!

  8. Leslie says:

    She looks like a sweetie! Hope the training goes well 🙂

  9. simpledaisy says:

    I think Hazel is lovely….but with 2 dogs {rescues} and a cat…..I can see why you might not want the hassel of anymore animals:)
    I love our pets…but they sure do put a beating on our home!!!
    Good luck with Hazel….I know Ruby {our newest} chewed up everything we owned when we got her::)
    Then you just wonder why………why did we do this to ourselves!?!?!?!?!? heehee!!
    Keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

