MoMA

MoMA was a highlight of our trip to NYC.  In particular the work above by Louise Bourgeois.  These are pages of textile art from a book she created.  It reminded me of those soft books for babies/toddlers that have buttons and zippers and velcro, but much more sophisticated.  But like those books for babies I wanted to hold the pages in my hands and feel the textures of the stitches and fabric with my fingertips.  Any trip to a modern art museum always leaves me wondering about the definition of art.  Much of it is fascinating, much of it inspiring, lots of it I turn over in my mind trying to formulate a response or figure out, some of it leaves me scratching my head.  (for the record the rest of my family was scratching their heads about the whole museum.  It just makes up for all the time I have spent with them at Bass Pro looking at hunting and fishing gear – losers!  *said with fondness*)  It makes me wonder who decides what creations are worthy of more attention, and what creations are forever doomed to obscurity, because frankly there are some works that I would have chosen to omit.  What makes a metal mini blind splayed out on the floor worthy of display?  Or a bale of hay placed in the middle of the room with some gold threads on it?  Please elucidate if you know the answers.  I’m all for being educated.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. i wish i had the answers! i also ask myself the same questions about art, especially when i see modern work that’s been created in the last few years. there’s stuff that i (and others) roll our eyes at, but to each his own i guess!

  2. Ohhh….love all the pages, too! I can’t say that I understand it all any more than you. I just know that after looking at plenty of art in Washington dc this summer….I was so pleased to happen upon the huge Norman Rockwell exhibit that is there right now. My whole family loved it too. It was certainly art that we all responded to and understood 🙂
    Loved hearing from you today….you always make me smile
    Michelle

  3. I’ve only been to MoMA once and I loved it. Contemporary art is my favorite. I’d love to spend a day there alone. jan

  4. Oh…….as for answers, I only know what my brain does when looking at more curious pieces. If I am interested enough in a piece, I let my mind wander around and try to infer what it might mean….for me. If it isn’t interesting visually, I might not put in the energy to think about it. A hay bale with gold threads in it might be interesting to me. Being an elementary school teacher, I would be reminded of a fairy tale. Was it Rumplestilskin in which someone spun gold from hay? Did it somehow refer to that? I’d wonder if it was a comment on farming and the industrial machine that it has become. Was there anything else around that related to it? I’d check the card on the way for the title and the date or any other into that might clue me in on the meaning. Sometimes, I can appreciate it just for the aesthetics.

    A venetian blind on the floor, might not float my boat. I’d probably check out the card on the wall about it though.

  5. So, I looked it up on the interwebs. Here was a synopsis of the piece: Cildo Meireles, Thread, 1990-95
    48 bales of hay, one 18-carat gold needle, and 58 meters of gold thread
    First time on view at MoMA

    Meireles creates sculptures and installations that tie everyday materials to larger political and philosophical concerns. Thread is a modular cube, a form evocative of the geometric rationality of Minimalist art, but it is constructed of a material generally associated with agriculture. At one end of the wire, a single 18-carat gold needle is inserted into the cube, recalling the common expression, “Like finding a needle in the haystack.” The pairing of substances with different monetary values but that here are nearly indistinguishable visually suggests the precariousness of economic relationships, and the minute needle embedded in the massive cube may call to mind the place of the individual within a larger social system.

    …….so in my mind, it is sort of a poetic expression in visual form.

  6. Patricia says:

    I don’t know anything about the individual pieces you mentioned, though I would love to see the Louise Bourgeois work now. But I like what Jan said about the places that your brain takes you when you look at a piece of art. My brain does this random word association that’s a lot of fun. Maybe the miniblinds on the floor installation is a statement about our own “blindn”ess (to art)? Anyway, I love your photos of the exhibits and the viewers.

Leave a Reply

