woodland coat of arms

This is my latest papercut, available now

In the last two weeks these events have occurred:

  • Brian hit a deer with his car on the way to work.  The car is in the shop – I am without a vehicle this week.  He and the boys were able to go back with the truck and at least manage to not let the deer meat go to waste.
  • Everett shot his first deer the same weekend during Youth Season.  He and a family friend processed both deer, and now we have a freezer full of meat.
  • Marshall came home after school one day and asked if I noticed anything different about him.  That’s when I notice his “I Voted” sticker.  He voted for the very first time.
  • Marshall got accepted to the University of Arkansas.  My baby is going to college next fall.  When, how, where, wait…maybe I’m ready, maybe I’m not…I’m just not going to think about it for a few more months.  Denial has served me well over the years!
  • Nate is now the manager of the jr. high girl’s basketball team.  He just up and asked the coach if he could have the job.  When, where, what, wait…does this mean he’s interested in girls now?  I’m not going to think about that one either.  I was however quite impressed with his initiative.
  • We all had a long conversation about life after high school, college, jobs, what’s important in life, the definition of success, etc.  Being in the middle of the book Radical Homemakers is making me hesitate to trot out the usual “you must go to college, you must get a good paying job, you must, you must, you must…  I feel split on things, life being life there does seem to be certain rules you must adhere to in order to survive and get along well with others.  At the same time there seems to be a need to examine closely what is important and to question said rules to see if they are really valid or if they are the way you want to define your success.  It gets really muddy when you are the parent and you are trying to guide your children, and you can see and hear the thought processes going on in your kids heads.  The hard part is knowing that they are going to have to figure some of this stuff out for themselves and in some cases the hard way. 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. How do you manage these intricate paper cuts? I would probably get to the last cut, then slip and put a line right across the middle…

    I was having a similar discussion with my daughter’s teacher yesterday. Basically my aim for my kids is that they try their best in school and that they enjoy learning. I’m not as worried about what grades they get or whether they go to college.

    I went to a top 10 university, studied Business Studies, came top of my year etc. yet my brothers that didn’t even do A Levels, let alone college, have achieved more in their careers than I have. I wonder who on earth will hire me when I hope to return to the working world soon.

  2. melinda says:

    simply .blown. away.
    by the papercut of course.
    you are amazing you know.

    You know I don’t have any answer for the whole “guiding-our-children-so-they-avoid-all-the-bone-headed-idiocy…”

    Society being what it is, there do seem to be some essential “musts” that “must” be done at certain times in life, so as to avoid “closing-any-doors-that-one-one-might-need-to-have-kept-open-at-some-as-of-yet-undetermined-point-in-the-future…”Gaaaaaah.
    And, oh yes, I’m sure my kinder will take that speech to heart as its sooooo relevant to their life in the here and now.
    Ahemmm.
    Not.

    Now, I’m off to hide from the “Overuse-Of-The-Hyphen” police, and on my way will skitter over to etsy and snag one of those gorgeous paper cuts! Wheeeeeeee

  3. um. i think it’s safe to say that nate likes girls.

    congrats to marshall! college was so much fun for me that i hope my kids also get to experience it–simply bc it was so darn fun. so very philosophical of me, huh? {a shame that it was also very very expensive.}

    i love each and every one of your papercuts. this one is one of the best, but i am still partial to the one i own!

  4. Lori DeMoss says:

    I think we need to get together to discuss that last paragraph…I need to do some clarifying too.

  5. wow, that’s a lot to soak in. you’re a strong momma, jackie!

    your woodcuts are getting more and more amazing.

  6. Patricia says:

    Wow, I am blown away! I love how each new papercut just gets more sophisticated and daring in execution. The acorn shield that encompasses all of the animals is really brilliant!

    And how fitting that I saw a fox run across the road this very afternoon! I always think that signifies a very lucky day for some reason. They always surprise me with how long-bodied and fast they are.

  7. Leslie says:

    What gorgeous work–as usual! And you have lots going on with the family. We’re in the midst of the college decision process and I’m in denial about the fact that I will have no children home with me next year! Ack!

Leave a Reply

