HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I am now starting year 4 of the blog.  And it’s a fresh New Year, so I’m thinking of freshening things up a bit.  Change can be disconcerting, but I like Keri Smith’s idea of pulling the rug out from under oneself from time to time.  So please don’t be alarmed if you see a lot of changes going on around here.  To help me keep things fresh I’ll also be using some tools that are available out there. 

  • Someone (hello Pat) I think signed me up for a month of writing SPARKS.  Every Monday in January a writing prompt will show up in my email.   So, I’ll be using those as post launches.
  • I also downloaded Keri’s 100 ideas, so when I’m brain blank I can utilize that tool. 
  • Over the holiday break I let myself meander amongst all the inspiration out there, and found myself freshly inspired.  I keep being drawn back to wool, fiber, embroidery, natural materials, quilting, printmaking, words,  and anything with a subtle sense of humor.  Look around see what you keep coming back to, use that knowledge for a bit of direction.
  • I started reading a real treasure of a book, it feels fortuitous that it came into my possession.  A Circle of Quiet by Madeleine L’Engle.  She has become my new best friend, it makes me weepy with joy how much I love this book and love her.
  • The Daily Post at WordPress

I’ve decided I want to blog more. Rather than just thinking about doing it, I’m starting right now.  I will be posting on this blog at least twice a week for all of 2011.

I know it won’t be easy, but it might be fun, inspiring, awesome and wonderful. Therefore I’m promising to make use of The Daily Post, and the community of other bloggers with similar goals, to help me along the way, including asking for help when I need it and encouraging others when I can.

If you already read my blog, I hope you’ll encourage me with comments and likes, and good will along the way.

Signed,

Jackie

p.s.  Here is another thought I came across today.  I think it has broad applications to writing, to creating, to love and living.  As you can see I’m spilling over with that New Year optimism.  The balloon will burst at any moment I’m sure, but until it does I’m going up to the clouds on it.

“Advice? I don’t have advice. Stop aspiring and start writing. If you’re writing, you’re a writer. Write like you’re a goddamn death row inmate and the governor is out of the country and there’s no chance for a pardon. Write like you’re clinging to the edge of a cliff, white knuckles, on your last breath, and you’ve got just one last thing to say, like you’re a bird flying over us and you can see everything, and please, for God’s sake, tell us something that will save us from ourselves. Take a deep breath and tell us your deepest, darkest secret, so we can wipe our brow and know that we’re not alone. Write like you have a message from the king. Or don’t. Who knows, maybe you’re one of the lucky ones who doesn’t have to.” — Alan Watts

6 Comments Add yours

  1. happy new year, jackie! looking forward to seeing what 2011 brings you. it’ll be awesome, i am sure!

  2. ibbyskibby says:

    wonderful! I will be happy to read more from you, I love your reflections!
    Sara

  3. amyks says:

    Happy New Year! I am so happy that you will be posting on a more regular basis. I always have such a sense of calm after reading your blog.:)
    XO
    PS Thanks for the email about dealing with Santa and the nonbelievers. We never had to have the conversation b/c I think my older two children realized how it important it is to keep the spirit alive on their own. I don’t want to question them for fear of spoiling the magic;)

  4. Leslie says:

    Happy New Year, Jackie! I love all your links, and I also love your optimistic plans for the year. I hope our paths will cross again this year…that would be such fun!

  5. Patricia says:

    Happy New Year, dear friend! Thank you as always for all of the inspiration, both here on the blog and during our chats. I know there’s a reason to keep at this blogging thing, and I appreciate your talking me through all my myriad doubts. Let’s keep that conversation going, OK?

Leave a Reply

