desk job

It’s been 6 months since I started my part-time job, and in that 6 months I have gained 10 lbs.  I’m beginning to understand how spoiled I was in being a SAM (stay-at-home-mom).  I had flexibility and more time to fit in exercise.  So, anyways in an effort to get things back on track I’ve been making sure I’m eating at least 5 fruits* and vegetables a day.  It works really well when I start the day off with my wonder drink.

Wonder Drink

  • 2 T. flax-seed meal
  • one banana
  • 1/3 C. blueberries
  • 2 generous handfuls of spinach
  • 1 C. vanilla soymilk
  • 5 ice cubes

Toss in blender and liquefy!   You could vary this in so many ways.  I’m thinking of substituting zucchini or cucumber for the spinach, and I’ve made it using a nectarine instead of the blueberries. 

*One day I happened to look underneath the kitchen cupboard and had to chuckle when I saw that one of my children had started putting fruit stickers there.  Now it’s become sort of a thing at our house.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. melinda says:

    I. Love. The. Stickers.

  2. Nancy says:

    Jackie,
    Wow, that wonder drink sounds…interesting!! Might have to try it. What’s for lunch??

  3. ellen kelley says:

    Sounds like a powerhouse breakfast, and yummy to boot. I just finished off a piece toast with almond butter and honey.
    I wonder why those stickers remind me of my house. Boy art, it’s all good.
    Love…

  4. Patricia says:

    I like the under-the-cab sticker storage. Most of our fruit stickers seem to end up stuck to the counter. 🙂

    Thanks for the smoothie recipe. I’ll have to try that one. I’ve been making smoothies with kale, ginger, banana, lemon, and apple or pear. Very satisfying, and they are helping tamp down the February cravings–a bit, anyway.

  5. That smoothie sounds delicious! Thank you for sharing! I’ve been meaning to get a juicer and drink smoothies for months now.

Leave a Reply

