one thousand gifts

23.  A fresh new haircut.

24.  Birds twitter singing spring.

25.  Lunch with friends; talk of chickens, snakes, children, onion layers, and weight watcher’s points.

26.  Curls of old wallpaper sliding up silver of putty knife.

27.  Coffee beans and their magical powers.

28.  Nate’s winter cold cheeks glowing warm and rosy.

29.  The sweet surprise of three little words in my email inbox:  I LOVE YOU

30.  Waking to a mother-of-pearl sky this morning.  Gray clouds lit from within scudding across the sky.

On my way to counting to a thousand

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jan says:

    What a very cool concept. I always meant to do Oprah’s thing of writing down of what you are grateful. This is a nice way to do that. It feel like poetry.

  2. Patricia says:

    OK, this is just giving me chills. I clicked to your blog directly after reading a post on the One Thousand Gifts Journal. I was just over at a friend’s house and we discussed the book, which she had just bought, and finding gratitude in the small things and not expecting our lives to be these unattainable ideals of perfection. Whew! And of course I thought of you, because your friendship and your blog are two of those gifts in my life.

    I am grateful for the poetry of your acknowledged gifts.

  3. ellen kelley says:

    Me too…grateful for you and working on 999 other things.

  4. Leslie says:

    Love the list. And I clicked over to check out that book…I may need to buy a copy!

  5. i loved your list…
    and your fun new haircut!
    i just had the fire cut out of my layers and have worn a ponytail for 2 days…..
    michelle

  6. 1. Decided not to throttle my offsping, so I will not be spending my life on death row
    2. After many threats my offspring did help (minimally) tidy a room
    3. Chocolate
    4. They are screening the rugby match on tv tomorrow
    5. Chocolate
    6. …

Leave a Reply

