photography fun

 

Friday we went to the Chicago Cultural Center to see the Vivian Maier exhibit.  Her photographs blew me away!  Plus the whole story is quite incredible.   If you ever haunt flea markets, antique stores or scan auction flyers, you probably have the heartbeat of a treasure hunter.  This story pulses with the rapid thump of discovery.  When the scope of this treasure become apparent to John Maloof, his heart must have been trip hammering.  I’m sure too, that as he had each new roll of film developed it was like a treasure hunt within a treasure hunt.

After that we met Rachel for lunch and conversation.  So fun to get GIRL time (no offense male species of my household)!  Then on to the Bean for photos.  Got some great technical camera coaching from Rachel as well.  It had to do with the viewfinder and the little scrolly dial – now that is true tech talk – scrolly dial. 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Phoe says:

    Looks like you had a great time. Fantastic pictures.

  2. thank you for introducing me to rachel!!!

  3. melinda says:

    hey, will you share with me the mysteries of the scrolly dial too?

  4. batspit says:

    your photos are amazing!!!

  5. Snip says:

    Oh, Jackie. Those are gorgeous. My favorite is the top one. It looks as though you had quite a productive trip. jan

  6. ellen kelley says:

    It is so good to hear from you. I don’t know wtf was happening with my computer. Fantastic photos as always.
    Love to you.

  7. amyks says:

    So happy to see that you are back at the computer, if only for a moment. Love, love, love that first photo…it is simply amazing!

  8. wonderv says:

    You know, I haven’t really had fun shooting in such a long time that I was sincerely, like 30 minutes ago, thinking of selling off my DSLR setup that I just bought another lens for because I am just not interested right now! Maybe I’m just not in the right place! I’m in St. Louis, too….maybe I should check out the rates for AmTrack….

  9. Awesome blog! You inspire me!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

