Chicago Calories (and boy were they worth it)

So, I’m wondering why my pants are still feeling so uncomfortably tight.  Maybe is the residual effect of all of those Chicago calories… 

My double-cheezeborger from Billy Goat Tavern and Da Billy Goat Lager.  Jen and I were inspired  by Rachel’s 100 Stranger’s project.  (Jen leaves for Amsterdam today and I’m still in Chicago)  Rachel always gets the best stories to go with her portraits.  Unfortunately we didn’t get this gentleman’s name or any interesting facts about him.  But I think it has emboldened me to take more of these kinds of photos.

My first taste of a macaroon from the Alliance Bakery.  Even though I ate 5 of them (there were so many flavors to choose from), I have concluded that I am not a big fan of the macaroon.  I realize that it’s not politically correct to say that out loud, and I risk a public flogging for my opinion.  I’m going to stand by it though – macaroons are pretty, but I don’t think they are the greatest food item on earth. 

However, our late night dinner from Fox & Obel, consumed in our room – that was delicious!  Roasted beet salad with goat cheese, crusty bread, wine and some seal salt chocolate caramels.  This was our proverbial last supper before we said good-bye to Chicago.  It’s a good thing it’s warming up and I can strap on the running shoes, cause I’ve got a lot of calories to burn off.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. ooooof! my jeans are feeling a wee tight, too. i haven’t been a regular runner this week, but my running shoes are coming with me to amsterdam.

    hey, it’s ok to not like macaroons! i think i got my fill in chicago: ate 4, then had no desire to eat another. and i’m still uninterested.

    but that grilled cheese looks really, really yummy to me right now!

  2. sara says:

    would you believe I’ve never tried a macaroon? They look like fancy soaps to me, and they come in weird flavors like lavender, which are also colored LAVENDER. I like beige cookies and pastries best.

  3. sara says:

    Ha! just after posting this comment, I found this in my blog reader:
    http://blog.imaginechildhood.com/imagine-childhood/2011/04/-spring-macarons.html

    Beige! And made egg-shapey, with pastel centers. These might be ok!

  4. Patricia says:

    I just tried macarons, too, and they are meh. But that burger!!

  5. Craig says:

    Jackie, I grew up in Brooklyn – these calories – and that guy look like he could have been from my block. Chicago – and Brooklyn calories are heavy – so get some rest 🙂

    I’m really glad I got a chance to come by today. God bless and keep you and all of yours.

  6. Simple Daisy says:

    Yum!! I love some serious Chicago calories!! Well….I love any and all calories really! That’s why I am more than happy that the riding seaons is here once again:):)

  7. knack says:

    I love billy goat tavern….and enjoyed eating there when the hubs and I were in chicago! (chips..no fries!) So glad you had a great time….and the salted chocolates would have been the icing on the cake for me too!

    xo

  8. beautiful, just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

