remindful

ellen’s vet post, and the fact that e. just turned 16 has sent me back to the old photo albums.  i found myself looking into the depths of the photos and beyond the mere photo.  i found myself looking at the structure and shape of my babes.  the curve of a baby cheek, the tiny curled toes with the flower petal nails, the crease of skin at a knee, remembering the weight and feel of a toddler in my arms, the days of make believe, and the stories behind block structures and a row of plastic animals all lined up.  maybe i’m being remindful too because m. just completed his two days of out-of-school-suspension for a lunch room food fight, and i’ve been lamenting with other parents the potential ills that all this technology brings, and n.’s got a cell phone and texting now, and e.’s trying to get his driver’s test passed, and they all watch shows on tv that have as many *bleeps* as words, and the world seems crude and raw sometimes,  and well, i guess i’m missing those days of innocence and wonder, and dirt piles, and pretending the carpet was an ocean and all we had to worry about was the imaginary sharks…

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Ali says:

    I miss it too. And mine are still relatively small (10 and 7). How did kids get to be so grown up so quickly?

  2. Lori DeMoss says:

    wow, Jackie! Times sure have changed haven’t they? Our kids sure have changed! Now I want to go look at my videos and remember those sweet times…times when mommy and daddy were wonderful and actually knew what they were talking about…

  3. ellen kelley says:

    Would that we could all hang onto those imaginary sharks.
    I don’t know how I would handle raising kids these days.
    Uninvited “guests” are nearly impossible to keep at bay now, aren’t they..and that can be very frightening.
    Sending love, e.

  4. Craig says:

    Oh the innocence – to see the little ones from being babies – into what they become. We gain magic when they have it – lose a little of it when they grow. Nobody – but nobody knows this like a mom. NOBODY. I can only glimpse a little of it – kind of reflected glory – you guys – you moms – YOU GET IT. This made me a little sad and made me smile at the same time

    God Bless and keep you and all of yours Jackie

  5. wonderv says:

    I so understand and go through that all the time. My girls are 12 and 13, so thankfully I have a bit before the driving and stuff. But I do find that I notice the time slip more when I see other peoples growing kids, or the kids from school that I have known since Kindergarten…or worse yet, the 3 year olds I used to teach at pre-school who are 12 and 13! It hurts….it hurts a lot. And what seems to chap me the most is when I want to go to one of the cool places we used to go to and it’s too “immature” for them to go. Bah! I swear, one day, I will borrow someone else’s younger kid so I can go to the cool places again!

Leave a Reply

