doing the hard thing

“Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.” ~Thomas Edison

I don’t know about you all, but I frequently feel like life is a constant learning lesson.  The lesson the universe is pressing upon me right now is “to do the hard thing”.  In this 24-hour techno-distraction world, I feel like me a lot of us have lost the notion of hard work.  It’s so much easier to sit in front of the computer, or flip through a magazine wishing for things, like a flourishing, weeded garden; or an organized laundry room; or to be physically fit; or to have more artwork created or, or, or… 

 But the truth is those things don’t happen by wishing, they happen by choosing to do the hard thing.  I think I’ve we’ve lost the satisfaction inherent in working hard.  I’ve been purposefully staying away from the computer for the last couple of weeks just so I could do the hard thing.  The hard thing of yard work, the hard thing of cleaning up my pit of a laundry room, the hard thing of not eating the cookies and the potato chips…  Okay, in the interest of being honest, I’ve also been preparing for a whole lot of company at my house for Marshall’s graduation.  And because I have chosen to avoid the hard thing for so long it has been a a bit overwhelming.  But bit by bit, as I’ve been working my butt off, things are getting done.  And you know what, it FEELS REALLY GOOD!  So, what hard thing have you been avoiding that would feel really good to get done?

(the photo doesn’t really go with this post unless you wish you could fly a plane, but are too lazy to actually take the classes to learn how to fly a plane. : )

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Decluttering my home. I actually love doing it once I set my mind to it, but hate taking the time to actually do it. My sewing machine is in the shop, so I have been doing this, bit by bit, in my free time. One closet and the galley in my kitchen are done and it feels GREAT!! Only four more closets to go. HA!

  2. Mousy Brown says:

    I took time off from the digital world for the Easter holidays and now can shine my housework halo and look smug – we have also managed to finish a patio, completely renovated my older sons room, moved a whole lot of furniture around and finally got around to a bunch of re-cycling and sorting that has been waiting for a few months (years!) and you are right it feels really good…..Now having dealt with my to do list for the house, I need to move onto me and that might be more hard work than I am ready for!

  3. i’m right there with you. my dream of having a space has been so real lately, but in the last week i’ve pulled back, back… it would be so much work to do it… i want to sit with my feet up this summer… i don’t want to fail….

    trying hard to convince myself that i really do want it to happen so i can get the excitement back.

  4. knack says:

    totally have been thinking about this a lot lately. I need to get back to running. I have been “too busy” to eat healthy and the pounds have crept on…..big time 🙂

    …also, my own house…I spend so much time creating and selling things for other people…. but have neglected my own house! 🙂 I have lots of hard work summer projects on my list!

    thanks for this!

  5. wonderv says:

    Yay YOU! This is very inspirational! I just started with a sort of Mastermind Group tonight where we set goals and hold each other accountable for the week that we will do what we say we will…I SO need accountability! LOL…honestly though, I have spent many an all nighter pulling off what you are so responsibly doing over time! Good on ya, doll! Have fun with the fam!

  6. Patricia says:

    I am in total agreement with your thoughts here! This past weekend I cleaned and organized my sewing room back home and came back to our rental house and started a flurry of cleaning and organizing. I worked so hard, in fact, that I tore my rotator cuff. So now I’m resting this week but catching up on my reading–now visiting Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park.

  7. ellen kelley says:

    Have you been reading my mind, or peeking into my house?
    I would rather do anything other than clean and organize stuff. The strange part is that I do like order and neatness. I have such a difficult time with all of the stuff that is in my “room”. Yarn, fabric, craft books, magazines etc. It is a total mess and when I walk in, I wring my hands, walk out and close the door. That certainly does not solve the problem.
    So…with inspiration from you, I will try again. Wish me luck.
    Love to you!

  8. Craig says:

    When I have a list – and I’m operating correctly – I do the hardest thing on the list first – the one I want to do the least. I think I learned about that from a time management book. Your Edison quote is perfect – PERFECT. And choosing the hard thing – that’s not only the better way – but the noble one. I am so committed to my goal now that some other things have been neglected – finding a church after my move is one of them – so check in on me in a week or two. OK. If I’m not ina church – or at least looking for one – be stern with me 🙂 Thank you for this today Jackie – I hearted it lots – and God Bless and keep you and all of yours.

  9. Ali says:

    You are so right in what you say. I look at all the perfect spaces on the internet and wonder why mine isn’t. Now I just need to figure out how to make myself grasp the hard stuff and get it done.

  10. This is you way of telling me to do the weeding, isn’t it? And paint those rooms. And sort the photos. And oil that table. And clear the garage. And…

    But it seems such a waste not to use my talent for procrastination…

  11. batspit says:

    Smoothpebble, you rock. That is the best quote I’ve seen in a long time- the work ethic out here is laughable- I think I need to post this somewhere at the new job.

Leave a Reply

