thank you

It feels so trivial to sit here posting pictures and typing words in the wake of such catastrophe.  And more bad weather looming this afternoon.  We are fine, but this has hit very close to home.  It certainly creates perspective.  What I can do, and you can do is not take anything for granted.  Love your people, be grateful for a home, reach out and get to know your neighbors, share, pray, recognize the miracle of drinking water and a warm bed and coffee in the morning.  Hold someone’s hand, and while you are holding their hand notice how it feels in your own, the weight of it, the warmth of it, the texture of their callouses and fingerprints.  Be present.  The end of the world may not have come on Sunday as predicted, except it has for the people affected by this tragedy.

On the home front I’m going through my own life blip, and I need a clear space in my head for my own perspective, and clarity.  Sometimes I emerge from blogging and blog reading, etc. feeling completely muddle-headed.  Like I’ve tried to fill an empty hole in my soul with distractions.  I can call it inspiration.  I can call it connecting.  I can call it tapping into my creativity.  But when I’m being completely honest with myself I recognize it as a type of numbing and hoarding.  How many images do I need to collect, really?  How much inspiration do I really need?  How many words do I need to read to fulfill these longings?  This all goes back to doing the hard thing.  If what I need is space and to feel what I feel, then I have to step back and create that space.  Not fill it with busyness and images and stuff.  Please don’t get me wrong.  I’m in no way denigrating blogland and the things going on out there.  I’VE just lost the why of why…  it’s not making sense to me right now, and for me it’s like crack cocaine – a way to escape.  All of that to say I’m taking time off – it may be a week, it may be 6 months, it may be indefinite.  I don’t know.  I do want to make art, and I lament I never have time to make art.  And again that’s also because I spend too much time seeing what other people are up to.  So, if doing art feels like it will be healing then yes I will post new stuff in the shop.  Otherwise I’m on sabbatical. 

I want to thank each and every one of you who have visited, commented, shared my journey.  You will never know what you have meant to me.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Phoe says:

    I know this feeling. At the moment it seems like distraction has become more vital than action. Take care of you and yours.

  2. i will miss you. please continue to send me random texts. and i’ll send you random texts. and emails. and facebook posts. xo.

  3. Jacque says:

    Just when I found you. At least I have your archives to sigh over. You are right to take much needed time. I should do this myself. Take time to do, instead of just watching all the time. I admire your courage.

  4. Patricia says:

    Sometimes doing nothing and sitting with the discomfort and anxiety and pain of life is the hard thing. You are so wise to suggest reaching out and holding someone’s hand. Call me any time. I am sending out lots of healing thoughts for you and for Joplin.

  5. melinda says:

    love. you.
    spot on as always.

  6. ellen kelley says:

    I cannot say it any better than those who have commented above. Ditto every word.
    Love you.

  7. darcy says:

    wow this was wonderfully stated. and powerful. Thank you!

  8. amyks says:

    hope you got my email…thinking about you.
    xoxo!

  9. wonderv says:

    Wow, I can completely relate and wish you well on your voyage! I had to release things like Facebook because after checking in at 6:30 am, I would realize by noon that nothing had gotten done and my craft business was still going nowhere. You will find yourself again, and it will be beautiful! You already are! Namaste, Jackie! We will miss you! Please bring your art back to share someday!

  10. Mousy Brown says:

    Glad you are safe – enjoy your peace and your creating….

  11. Craig says:

    I am going to miss your words a lot during your sabbatical. I get it though. I just prayed for your time “away” – that it be refreshing, and helpful, and good for you. I heart your words Jackie– never left your site without pondering, or smiling – you have been a blessing – come back when you’re ready – and God bless and keep you and each and every one of yours!

  12. kristin says:

    yes, jackie dear. to use your own words. be present. be present for yourself and live your moments to their fullest…i will always call you friend whether or not you ever find yourself back in this space. it is a horrible loss if your creative time gets sucked up by being on the computer. you are such a talent…discover what more you have to create. xx

  13. I stop by here regularly to check and see if the sabbatical has ended. Hopefully, it continues for all the right reasons.

    I hope you’re doing well.

    jan

  14. marie misgen says:

    All we take with us are relationships. But it is essential to spend time with ourselves!
    You have a beautiful sensitivity, Go Forward and Progress !! xox

Leave a Reply

