unencumbered

My fantasy these days is to travel light!  We are preparing for vacation, and I’m considering trimming the packing list down to just the essentials.  It’s crazy what I consider essential on a daily basis…  Just think how unencumbered you would feel to get on an airplane with the clothes on your back, a book, and your wallet!  I’m even contemplating leaving my curling iron and makeup behind *GASP*.  I want to be fully present to my surroundings and my family and not spending time working on my hair and face… 

I’m also going to try being emotionally unencumbered.  I’m going to let go of my expectations, my control, my agendas.  I’m going to visualize taking those things and opening my fist and blowing them out into the universe.   Then the hard part – opening myself to possibilities and the unfolding of the days. 

My other fantasy, emptying my mind of everything but the essentials.  Which I think will be accomplished very nicely walking along the beach and picking up interesting shells and rocks!

My wrists though are going to be very encumbered, because I’m going to use the travel time to make these chevron bracelets:  Photo and DIY from Honestly…WTF.  Okay, so I’ll get on the plane with the clothes on my back, a book, my wallet, and embroidery floss!

Wishing you all a weekend unencumbered or encumbered – your choice!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. threesneakybugs says:

    That sounds lovely! I can’t wait for the day when we can travel and I don’t feel the need to bring a bazillion things for the kids. We’re heading out for a road trip 1 week from today. I’m very aware that my job is to keep those kids occupied in the car. And that’s fine, but I do love your vision. (and that fantastic top photo)

  2. wonderv says:

    Good luck on traveling with the most vacant of head spaces, lightest of suitcases, and the most attentive of families! Can’t wait to see your pic’s when you get back!

  3. Amyks says:

    Sounds fabulous, we have been spending a lot of time boating and I try to pack very light. I found all I need is a sundress and my swim suit, but I always pack more than that.
    PS can you make me one of those awesome bracelets?!? 🙂

  4. melinda says:

    have a groovy time!
    sending peaceful vibes your way.

    p.s. AnnaMaria has been known to make those bracelets…they are a time commitment, at least some of the more intricate ones.

  5. Leslie says:

    Hope you’re having a fabulous time and making some awesome jewelry! I made the hex nut bracelet and I must say it was harder that it seemed in the tutorial. I think “camp crafts” must be beyond my skill level 🙂

  6. kristin says:

    i saw that very same post and made my first ever chevron yesterday. it has a few mis knots but it was a good exercise for my first try.

Leave a Reply

