fairytale endings

This picture makes me think of Hansel and Gretel making their way through the forest.  Looking into those woods I’m certain there is a witch with a gingerbread house.  And you can see the stump where the children’s woodcutter father has chopped down a tree.

Ah, but there is another fairytale happening.  I can glimpse Christmas and the desire to create a handmade Christmas.   Just there in the forest of the internet.  It is enticing me with tutorials and ideas and inspiration.  Is it drawing you in as well?  Come closer my dear, break off a piece from one of those delicious handmade ornaments.  Please try a sampling of beautiful gift wrapping.  Can you smell the sweet aroma of  holiday decorating?  Go on, you know you want some!  Don’t forget those sugar spun Christmas cards.

College boy let me know how disappointed he was that I hadn’t done any Halloween decorating, so I guess I better get my holiday on.  Note to self, beware the witch that might emerge under the stress of eating that gingerbread house…otherwise there goes that fairytale ending.

p.s.  This is a very accurate, but humorous picture of what it’s like to be depressed.  And also since I seem to frequently push the curse word envelope it contains some of that too.    Seems appropriate to link after my post about warning signs.  Thanks Sara for the link – it made my day! : )

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful woods, and I think that I can see the yellow eyes of the wolf and his slavering mouth. OOOHHH!
    Presently, I am trying not to freak out about what time is left before Christmas. I hate it when I do that. It takes a lot of the joy away. I will have to go to my time out chair and have a serious talk with myself. Freaking out does no good and is such a negative outlook for such a wonderful season.
    Have a glorious weekend, luv.

  2. ibbyskibby says:

    I am ALWAYS lured by the handmade christmas. Once, I handmade everything for my friend and her family (5 people) plus my hubby and young son. We packed all the presents carefully in one suitcase and hopped on the Amtrak from Salt Lake City to San Francisco.

    When we checked our baggage near the end of the trip, the gift suitcase was gone. The baby I-Spy quilt, the handmade froggy doll, the beanbag toss game, knitted hats, and more….all gone. I cried real tears.

    A woman had taken our bag by mistake and we were able to track her down in San Jose or something. We traded luggage and had a Merry Christmas style ending.

  3. leaca says:

    Gorgeous shot.

    I am getting into the holiday spirit too. My college kids have great expectations that I have to be ready for them. I think I will be. Their excitement has always gotten me excited.

  4. Lori DeMoss says:

    It seems that when they leave home their expectations grow…

  5. wonderv says:

    Aw, Jackie! I hope you are feeling better. I would love to know how you kept the kids/family in the “holiday spirit” after the Santa bubble was burst. We have slipped into “Is it really worth it to dig to the back of the storage room for the Christmas Boxes when it is just us?” Even the girls couldn’t give a crap! I actually just gave all of my Halloween deco to my sister. It’s really kind of a drag worrying about it!

    H & 1/2 was awesome! It’s not funny….but it is….I’m so confuddled.

    Have fun making your crafties! Be sure to show us what you come up with!

  6. Nancy says:

    What a beautiful photo, Jackie, i.e. Professional Photographer.

Leave a Reply

