classy

I had the a monkey wrench thrown in my schedule pleasure of taking Nate to the orthodontist yesterday because a piece popped off of his braces.  It’s about an hour and a half round trip.  It ended up being the highlight of my day.

 On the way home Nate was surfing through the radio stations and landed on a station playing music by Steve March Torme, Doris Day, Patti Page, Count Basie, Joe Williams and others.  And he left it there!  Then he began to tell me about the classy resturaunt he was going to open someday.  It will have white tablecloths, candlelight, and live jazz music playing.  The lights will be low and he will float through the room in his tuxedo asking his guests if they are enjoying their meal.  His waiters will also wear tuxedos, and have tiny waxed mustaches.  They will also speak with fake British accents, making it sound impressive when they take orders.  I asked him why not hire real British people?  According to Nate that would be too expensive.  In order to dine there you would have to be wearing the appropriate attire or be turned away. 

 I’m telling you with the music playing in the background and his funny, sweet descriptions…well, I was transported.  I was sitting at a table with a crisp white cloth and a pool of candlelight.  Gently tapping my heel clad toes to the music and feeling swept up in a warm ambiance.  

Just listen to this, close your eyes, and see where it takes you…

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Debra says:

    Can I make reservations/

  2. melinda says:

    honestly.
    the classiest teen in Lawrence county for sure!

  3. wonderv says:

    How wonderful! A boy who can appreciate the need and amazingness of opulence for opulence sake, and can see it so readily that he can paint the picture with words! The clock certainly needs to be shifted back, and I would probably ask him for a job just so I can be there all the time! You think he would hire a chubby 30-something cigarette girl?! LOL!

  4. ellen says:

    Absolutely endearing. You will remember this forever, and I think that it is a wonderful place to just be and let the whole ambiance (sp?) of the music and the place wash over you.
    p.s. I think it should be called Nate’s. Isn’t that classy? He certainly is.
    xoxo

  5. amyks says:

    that is priceless!!! 🙂

  6. Eleaca Young says:

    ok….he won my heart. sign me up for a reservation too.

  7. batspit says:

    white table cloths ARE classy. Always been one of my own indicators that I’m somewhere POSH. And really, you can’t be posh without a british accent… i’ve tried.

  8. Nancy says:

    Tell Nate we’ll all be there and dressed up, too!!!

  9. Jan says:

    What a very cool memory to have of his growing up. I love it. jan

  10. Sounds lovely – but we Brits are ever so cheap to hire, honestly. Plus, while all of my husband’s friends think that they can do a GREAT British accent, they really can’t…

Leave a Reply

