damn good recipe*

This recipe is something that a tribute would eat during the pre-Hunger Games training.  There would not be food this fine in the Districts they came from.  These book are in the young adult category, but it’s been a while since I’ve read a book that makes me want to sit on the couch for hours and burn my way through the entire trilogy.  The strong, brainy female protaganist is such a great antidote to the doe-eyed, kittenish, superficial & dreamy female figures that I’m seeing paraded around everywhere.  Once again female images that very, very, few “real” girls can live up to.  Mr. Smoothpebble sometimes accuses me of being a man-hater, but in this case it’s not the men posting and re-posting these images, it’s women doing it.  Come on ladies!!  Enough.  I digress, I have an extremely delicious recipe to share.  The kitten girls couldn’t possibly eat this as it might cause some excess flesh to hang out of their shortie shorts.

Melt, Add:

  • 4 T. unsalted butter
  • 1/2 C. dark brown sugar
  • 2 T. fresh lime juice
  • 4 T. dark rum
  • 1/2 tsp. ground allspice
  • 1/4 tsp. kosher salt

Add, and Saute:

  • 2 ripe bananas, sliced into 1″ chunks
  • 1 & 1/2 C. fresh pineapple, diced

Serve over; Garnish with:

  • Vanilla ice cream
  • Toasted sweetened coconut (toast coconut in nonstick skillet over med. heat about 5 minutes or until golden brown.)

Melt butter, brown sugar, lime juice, rum, and seasonings in a large skillet over medium-low heat.

Add bananas and pineapple; saute until tender, but not soft, about 2 minutes.

Serve over scoops of vanilla ice cream, garnished with toasted coconut.

*A lot of my damn good recipes come from this magazine, Cuisine at Home.  8 out of 10 dishes that I make from their recipes get an A+ rating.  They are not paying me for this endorsement but my entire family gives it a thumbs up.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. i want to add the hunger games books to my reading list, but my list is already unmanageable! sigh. this recipe, however, looks veeeeeerrrrry do-able.

  2. Eleaca Young says:

    sounds yummy. anything with coconut calls my name.

  3. ellen says:

    I’m drooling.
    Are you in for a snowstorm this weekend?

  4. Luckily for me, I donated my shortie-shorts the day I found out I was pregnant 15 years ago! This sounds niiiice! Ty, Pebble!

  5. amyks says:

    you are hilarious! why anyone would post pictures like that to their pinterest board is beyond my grasp… I am definitely going to try this recipe, sounds delicious.

  6. amyks says:

    PS Just discovered that magazine this weekend, while my family was hitting the slopes, I was sitting next to the fire perusing this magazine. I am also trying the “Mexican butter stuffed Chicken” from the February 2012 issue 🙂

  7. Nancy says:

    yummy! think we’ll try it soon.

Leave a Reply

