I got in!!!

 

I spent the weekend scrambling like a mad woman trying to get my papercut pieces ready for the juried competition.  And I got in!!!  Two of my three pieces were selected.  They will be on display at Fresh gallery during the month of March.  The exhibit opening will be during the First Friday Artwalk.  Crazy.  Crazy Good.  I was a mess by Monday morning.  Not only did I have to finish the hive papercut, but I had to tutor myself on how to frame art.  From scratch more or less.  Nerve raaaaaaacking!  These aren’t the best photos, with the glare from the freshly framed art, but this was what the finished hive cutting ended up looking like.  I don’t know what to do with my emotions…I routinely cut off feeling excited about things for some screwed up reason.  I guess I’m waiting for the punch line or for the laughing to start because someone just pulled a fast one on gullible me.  I think I’ll jump up and down anyway!  What the heck, I’ve got two pieces of art that are going to be on display in a real live gallery!

15 Comments Add yours

  1. melinda says:

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWESOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOME!
    I’m sooooo excited & happy for you!
    Wootwootwootwoot!!!

  2. applecyder says:

    THAT IS SO FANTASTIC!!! I’m not surprised, though. You really are an incredible artist Jackie.

  3. Mousy Brown says:

    Congratulations! You so deserve it, your paper art rocks! Just wish i could come and see the show…

  4. jen says:

    OF COURSE you got in! you do amazing work! i’m so happy for you! and so proud! i wish i lived closer so i could see them on the gallery wall… i’m sure there will be many more shows!

  5. Amyks says:

    So cool! Love it!

  6. Rachel says:

    Congratulations! This piece is really outstanding (as are your smoke swirls!)…no surprise you got in with that work! I do some paper-cutting too and recently came across a pretty amazing adhesive for mountain…if you are interested, let me know and I can shoot you the information. It makes mounting cuts like this a piece of cake!

  7. Rachel says:

    Apparently my brain is focused outside on mountains…I meant adhesive for mounting! 😉

  8. Lori DeMoss says:

    Yay! That is just fantastic! I know what you mean about not allowing yourself to get too excited about things…I do the same thing.

  9. jan says:

    Oh, I am so very happy for you!!!!!!!!! Congratulations!!!!!! And I am loving the designs!

    Matting and framing on your own DEFINITELY bites.

    jan

  10. Patricia says:

    Yay, Jackie!! I’m so happy for you!! This is such a great step for you, and a culmination of many years of hard work and bucketloads of talent. The beehive is STUNNING! I can’t wait to see pix of the show. xoxo

  11. Phoe says:

    Congrats! Well done on the excellent work. 🙂

  12. ibbyskibby says:

    I love the beehive. I wish I had it for my house! Congrats on the show. I’ve never been so nervy as to enter something.

  13. molly says:

    oh i love love love this! congratulations on the show!

  14. Oh, my goodness, Baby Girl! This is amazing!! I can’t believe you finished that thing ALREADY! Congrats, and I know this won’t be the last! You should enter some of your photography, too. Juried shows can be a pain, I know, not to mention incredibly political (though they are supposed to be impartial…whateva!) so be super proud of yourself there, too! YAY!!

  15. Leslie says:

    That is so awesome and so deserved! I love, love, love this!

Leave a Reply

