how instagram pushed me over the edge

My one and only instagram photo.

Not too long ago instagram was made available on android phones.  And I created an account.  For about 5 minutes.  Because the thought of one more social networking site felt like madness.  The thought of posting and following and being followed and commenting all felt like too much energy.  Energy and time that I’m no longer willing to sacrifice.

Blogs, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Flickr, Pinterest, Goodreads,  et al  – Can someone please tell me – is it just me? or is the world going mad??? Never mind don’t answer that one.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. kristin says:

    and ravelry and 4 (yes FOUR) email accounts….*sigh*

  2. Patricia says:

    Love the shot, though! 🙂

    I am so much happier when I’m able to control my net addictions. I can’t remember where I read this, but an older writer was saying that all this content coming at us so fast, without our having time to reflect on it or process it, has to be very bad for our ability to produce good work. We’re all just becoming full-time consumers or receivers.

    I think there must be a way for us each to individually figure out where our tipping point is, just like with anything else, and stay on the right side of it.

  3. i have not been feeling like sharing on social media sites lately… it just seems so silly. why do people care what i ate or what song is going through my head (kokomo)? i still enjoy checking in and seeing what my friends are up to, but i haven’t felt like contributing. maybe it’s the warmer weather and wanting to be unplug.

  4. Mousy Brown says:

    I love to take the photos – don’t do the network thing…or facebook either. No matter how inspiring it all is I need a bit of time here in the now…just a bit…

  5. MichelleB says:

    You’re on Goodreads??? Will you please be my friend?

  6. uklassinus says:

    Last adult on earth to not own a cell phone, so instagram has passed me by. I do like Goodreads, mind…

  7. golittlered says:

    It is all very distracting and overwhelming…and I complain about the fact that every damn place..grocery stores, elevators, dr. offices etc. play music. I use the term “music” when really it is just more noise to my ears. Makes me want to hurl tomatoes in the grocery store.
    love to you, ellen.

  8. No, hon, it is definitely not YOU. It is just all about one more “innovator” trying to fill in another niche in the market, which we of course NEED so we can stay cool, hip, relevant, and connected!!, so they, too, can become the next Mark Zucherberg. Or however you spell it…I am so appalled, i am not looking it up!

  9. Leslie says:

    Well, I’ll confess I’m an Instagram addict! I’ve pretty much abandonded flickr, though, and I rarely post on my blog, so I guess those are the trade-offs for me. I’m sure one day I will tire of Instagram, but for now it’s the fastest, least “time-consuming” form of social media I’ve found.

Leave a Reply

