Hand Printing

I am so glad I signed up for this swap! I spent much longer than necessary thinking about it.  Which also means I’m a day late sending my fabric out.  I once turned in a project late in one of my Design classes in college.  And I’ve never forgotten what my professor said.  “If everyone had had as much time as you, they could have created something as outstanding.”  This was stated in front of the entire class.  I think she was trying to stress that meeting deadlines was an important part of being a designer/artist… and that even if your design is great it won’t matter in the real world if you can’t get it turned in on time.

Thankfully this is not a paying job, and hopefully my recipients won’t mind getting it a day later.  I tried some things out on a test piece, and I actually like the random patterns on it.  The upper designs were done with a stamping technique and the clouds were done using freezer paper stenciling.

Here are the final results for the swap.  I have plenty of fabric though and plan to continue my experiments!

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Emily says:

    woah!!!!!! The prints are awesome! I love each one 🙂 Now I can’t wait to get mail!

  2. nicely done! and you’re not in school anymore, so deadlines, schmeadlines. the last on is my fav!

  3. golittlered says:

    I don’t have a favorite. I love them all! Fantastic, Jackie.

  4. amyks says:

    Those are so amazing! I love them all, too! the ones on the gray and yellow fabric look like the tops of umbrellas…so great!

  5. Patricia says:

    Beautiful! I love the two circle shapes together in the random pattern; it’s so cool how the gray and the yellow give a completely different vibe. And it looks like you had a lot of fun with each piece.

  6. Lea says:

    those are so so so so cool! You never cease to amaze me 😉

  7. These are stinking amazing! I am still in love with the circles on the yellow, but love more now since you added the other circle pattern. And how awesome is the ombre-esque cloud print?! That would be an amazing center or back panel on a childs quilt! I personally forgive you for taking extra time and allowing the creative process to happen organically. Good job, lady!

  8. Laura Noble says:

    wow, I’m so impressed, that fabric is truly beautiful!!

  9. I LOVE the yellow and white one! Did you make your own stamps?

  10. melinda says:

    awesome. ness.
    you must show me how…

  11. uklassinus says:

    Wow. They turned out beautifully

  12. Angelia says:

    Yes, and I was lucky enough to be in the swap group and receive one of these lovely fabrics. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

