Art History (College)

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

DSC_0012Apparently it was my Drawing I class that began my fascination with hands.

DSC_0010Still life in scribbles.

DSC_0018 DSC_0019Watercolor class was the most frustrating for me. I love watercolor paintings, but for the life of me I could not get things to turn out the way they looked in my head.

DSC_0016A lesson in turning an artist’s color work into a black and white piece (top) and turning a black and white work into color using homemade egg tempura (bottom). I call this “loose lips sink ships”, cause I’m clever that way. har har

DSC_0023Figure drawing. I do actually like this one, and it gave me a new way to look at the relationships in the lines of people and things.

DSC_0026 DSC_0027 DSC_0028

My first two years in college my plan was to become an interior designer. I soon realized that I was a small-town, country-bumpkin girl who had only been exposed to design via magazines. I very soon became intimidated by the big city gals (and it was mostly women) in their designer clothing who had far more exposure to “real” design than I had. In addition I completed many of these assignments at the last minute, staying up all night, and a few of them I turned in late. (Which is the perfect segue into my next post about Adult AD/HD.) At any rate I changed my major 3 times – Interior Design, Audiology, and finally getting a degree (174 college hours later) in Public Health.

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. golittlered says:

    I love the hands.

  2. uklassinus says:

    Ooh, I like the boat one especially! A couple of the mums have told my son’s teacher that I can draw (after seeing me do a quick chalk drawing background for Halloween carnival pictures, I’m guessing). Now I’m being volunteered for painting backdrops for their play. I’ve tried to explain that I haven’t used paint since I was 15. gulp.

Leave a Reply

