Soundtrack

20130808-161208.jpg
The family and I just toured the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Hours, we spent hours there. 5.5 hours actually. I was never the kid who bought records, cassettes, or fan magazines, etc. But I did go to concerts, listen to the radio, and absorb the music of whatever era it was through osmosis. And like you I’m sure, there are so many songs that when you hear them, they take you back to a certain time and place. Walking through that museum set fireworks off in my chest!
By the time we walked out I was vibrating. I’ve consciously experienced 4.5 decades of music, I remember the launch of MTV and at Thanksgiving that year sitting with all my cousins watching one music video after another. I remember secretly wishing I was brave enough to dress like a punk rocker. I remember leaving a bar with my boyfriend and friends, all of us singing a Rolling Stones song at the top of our lungs. And the hysteria that rap and metal bands created, just another chapter in the next generation’s claim on expressing themselves. People being worried that if their kids played the record backwards they would be satan worshipers. Just as a generation in a previous decade thought Elvis’ gyrations would lead those kids into sin and debauchery.
I realize I am perhaps an overly sensitive goofball, but it was a mind-blowing dopamine experience. Music firing off neurons of emotion. Wide-eyed recognition of creativity, soul, passion, rebellion, connection, brashness, flamboyance, collaboration.
At the most distilled level I think it was the sheets of notebook paper with scribbled lyrics on them that lit the first sparkler in my chest!

Keep on rocking in the free world! ~Neil Young

20130810-130417.jpg

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow!! Pebble, that sounds amazing! I remember early MTV, too (young John “Cougar, tyvm” Mellencamp declaring that they would “Paint the muther Paink!” I believe in reference to an MTV party shack or something….the budget was pretty low back in the day! I had cassette singles, 45’s, think I still have my Aerosmith “Permanent Vacation” cassette somewhere….tee shirts, magazines, couple of concerts but if I admit too loudly that my first concert was my pre-9th grade New Kids on the Block concert at Busch Stadium, any and all street cred I try desperately to hang onto would be out the window! But like you said, aside from the hype, its the way a song will take you and send you somewhere else, make you smell, feel, hear things that aren’t there, but were once. after hearing your review, I think it is a road trip that must be had. (If there are 3 of these in your comments I am REALLY sorry!! WordPress refused to let me reply, or at least led me to believe I couldn’t!)

    On Sat, Aug 10, 2013 at 1:08 PM, Smoothpebb

  2. golittlered says:

    What a trip!!!!! You clearly know that I am older than the “historic tree” in your town. My concerts were the Everly Brothers, Peter, Paul and Mary….hmmm, who knows. I do clearly remember seeing Elvis on our little black and white tv, open mouthed and glad that my parents were not in the same room. (Oh, and being in love with Ricky Nelson.)
    I hope you had a fabulous birthday, most beloved one.

Leave a Reply

