Game? Are You?

DSC_0047altI just spent a glamorous morning cleaning out the vent pipe to the dryer, scrubbing out the cat litter box, and cleaning up dog diarrhea… I’m in need of something infinitely more pleasant! So, I’m wondering if anyone would be interested in a “Tiny House Swap” to acknowledge the anniversary of the Elsie Marley Mobile Swap of 2008. Back then I had just started blogging, and my friend, Melinda, asked if I wanted to participate in a diy swap. Elsie Marley created a flickr pool, assigned everyone swap partners, and thus ensued a flurry of creativity and camaraderie. I have really fond feelings for this experience, because it was in the magical early days of blogging, flickr, the handmade renaissance, and people actually taking the time to make connections with each other. It seems crazy that 6 years!!! later I’m still in contact with many of the women I met directly through the mobile swap, or by some indirect rabbit trail from there. I doubt if the intoxicating magic can be recaptured, but I thought if there was some interest I would facilitate another diy swap.

The theme: Tiny House Swap 2014

  1. Create a set of tiny houses, minimum of 3.  Either 3 separate houses, or a piece that contains at least 3 houses.
  2. Use any medium of your choice.
  3. Be willing to ship internationally.
  4. Sign up deadline, January 31st.
  5. Shipping deadline, February 28th
  6. No Christmas or gingerbread theme houses.

Ideas to start your creative flow.  Sculptural – wood scraps, balsa wood, cardboard, porcelain, clay, paper clay, plaster of paris, polymer clay, wool, cloth, paper mache. Stand alone, garlands, mobiles.  Textile – embroidery or screen print on any number of things, tea towels, tote, zippered pouch. Mini art quilt, pillow(s), stuffy.  2-Dimensional art – collage, screen print, rubber stamps, watercolor or paint, paper cut, pen & ink.  You can go here and see some tiny houses that I love! Whether this swap gets off the ground or not I will be creating tiny houses. Give me a holler (I do live in the Ozarks people – we holler at each other) in the comments if you’d like to participate. Or send me an email at jacqueline(at)smoothpebblestudio(dot)com.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. melinda says:

    *squeeeeeeeee*
    I humbly submit the above girly excited squeal as my official hollar of entry.
    yaaaaaaaaay!

  2. melinda says:

    holler vs. hollar.
    discuss?

  3. Michele says:

    Hmmmm…. This is very intriguing. Dare I holler? Sure!

  4. Jenny Lee says:

    Count me in! Jackie– the kids (7&11 now) want to play, too. Is there room for that?

  5. jen says:

    m, it’s “holla.”

  6. JenS says:

    I would like to give an official Holla of Entry. Thank you! Love this idea!

  7. Patricia says:

    Great idea, Jackie! You’ve already got me dreaming about little houses. Count me in.

  8. Mousy Brown says:

    Oh me too! I’m trying to think of an appropriately Welsh response – yma I guess!

  9. smoothpebble says:

    I’ll go with “holla”, although Webster’s tells me it is spelled holler. Perhaps holler is just how native Kansan’s spell it, and hollar is the unofficial Ozarkian way.

  10. Heather Hynd says:

    Would love to join in! 😀

  11. kristin says:

    really, truly, Jackie, this is just what I needed!! I am so IN! I was part of that mobile swap too…I was even the lucky recipient of Elsie’s beautiful newspaper house/paper mache mobile. great theme! xx

  12. Chelle says:

    I’d love to join. Thank you for organizing this!

  13. ntexas99 says:

    I’m in the process of visiting names on my blogroll that have, for one reason or another, fallen off my radar, and I’m definitely intrigued. I think I’d like to officially throw my name into the circle, so consider this a holla in your direction. Will follow with an email with my contact information. It sounds like fun, and I love a challenge. Any medium? Just so long as it contains at least three tiny houses, right?

  14. ntexas99 says:

    sorry, I will be sending an email, but I’m going to have to withdraw my name from the hat … my ten year old Akita is currently having some major health issues, and I realized I won’t have time to participate … will follow with an email … thanks

Leave a Reply

