Deal-breaker?

DSC_0001

I’m thinking of breaking up with my family.

Before I tell you why, I’m going to give you a little background information. I grew up in a small town in North Central Kansas. We lived in a neighborhood, with sizable one-acre lots, outside the city limits. Most everyone, whether you lived in town or out in the country had vegetable gardens. Vegetable gardens with the glory of summer ripening on the vine! The deliciousness would start with the spring strawberries. That was quickly followed by fresh asparagus. Then as summer got underway it was creamed peas and new potatoes. Full on summer and EVERY meal at our table was laden with plates of thick-sliced summer tomatoes, and cucumbers, and a tupperware container with wedges of sweet and juicy cantaloupe.  My dad swore he grew the sweetest cantaloupe in the county. Best of all, when the timing was right, there was a giant platter piled high with – Oh My Gosh I Have Died and Gone to Heaven Sweet Corn. My brother and I would easily tuck away 3 ears, and then fight over the last one.

Quick segue to 2014. We don’t have a garden. I’ve tried multiple times, and have had some success here and there with tomatoes. But not one single member of my immediate family has any interest in growing one, and, and, AND… worst of all, they seem pretty blasé about fresh grown produce. WHAT?? Are you kidding me? What the hell is wrong with you people?? Friends will give us vegetables from the bounty of their gardens. I buy wonderful things at the farmer’s market. Then I eat all of it. Last night I oven roasted corn on the cob.* I ate 3 ears, everyone else one. I don’t get it. When that corn, slathered in butter and lightly salted, hits your taste buds, how can you stop at one?

So yeah, I might be breaking up with my family.

*Leave corn in their husks, place on rack in middle of 350 degree oven. Bake for 30 minutes. They come out perfectly steamed in their husks. Peel back the husk and use as a handle. Be prepared for the occasional roasted corn worm.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I get it, baby. My daughter staunchly is wholesale against almost any and all vegetables. Except for weird things, like roasted asparagus, kale chips, and spinach salad with squeezed lemon. AND she is a carb-o-holic, so being Paleo is less than convenient. 🙂 They are jerks. It’s not you, it’s them.

  2. amyks says:

    My 2 girls will eat nearly any fruit or vegetable. My husband and my son are against most vegetables. My son is worse than his father, Some days all I want for dinner is a great big salad with some fresh veggies and my husband and son want to know “Where’s the meat?” Ugh, it is so aggravating, especially because I didn’t eat red meat or pork for almost 20 years and I sometimes wish I could go back to that diet!!!

Leave a Reply

