Sugar Shack

2014-08-26 09.05.19-2

Let’s not dawdle here, let’s just get right to it. 3 delicious, sugar coma recipes. And 2 new cooking techniques. That were new to me, in any case.

For birthdays around here I try to make something special, delicious, and made from scratch. This year for Nate’s 16th birthday I made an Italian Cream Cake. Hello Mama!!  I used The Pioneer Woman’s recipe.Very moist, dense, and coconutty. Coconutty, is that even a word? You can click on the link for the recipe. That’s recipe number #1.

Somehow I stumbled upon Molly Wizenberg & Matthew Amster-Burton’s Spilled Milk Podcast. (I think I’ve traded obsessive blog reading for obsessive podcast listening) I love listening to this podcast while I do kitchen chores, or really any kind of chore. Quite often they make me laugh out loud. Their chocolate chip cookie episode had a cooking technique embedded in it that caused the heavens to open up, and angel choirs to sing. Old dough. That’s it, that’s the trick. It requires supreme culinary discipline, and is not for the weak-willed. Basically you make your dough, put it in the refrigerator, and then try to forget it’s there for 36 hours. 36 entire hours. Discipline grasshopper.  It allows the wet ingredients in the recipe to fully integrate with the dry ingredients. I can attest to the fact that it does make for a more delicious cookie. Enter recipe #2:  Molly’s Buckwheat Butter Cookies with Cocoa Nibs. These cookies are sly. They appear to be a subtle cookie, but mmmmmmm, mmmmmmmm, mmmmmmmm – eat one and it is your undoing. You will sneak 2 or 3 more. Sneaking them, because you don’t want your family knowing that you are a greedy cocoa nib junkie. Having made two batches, and letting one batch rest longer than the other – I found it really did make a difference in the taste/texture of the cookie.

Recipe #3 and another cooking technique. Yes, you probably already know this one. I found it when I was looking for a salted caramel buttercream frosting recipe, because Marshall is turning 22 in a couple of weeks. The recipe is a very simple way to make homemade caramel sauce. I grew up pronouncing caramel “kär’mel”, but my children annoy me by pronouncing it “care uh mel’ “. I know my version may possibly be classified as hick, whatever…

Make it Yourself Caramel Sauce

  • 3 cans sweetened condensed milk
  • optional:  coarse sea salt, bourbon, butter, vanilla, honey
  • crockpot
  • 5  8 oz. canning jars
  1. Open cans of sweetened condensed milk and pour evenly into the 5 canning jars.
  2. Add any of the optional ingredients if you want, 1/4 tsp. coarse seal salt, or 1 T. bourbon, or 1 T. butter, or 1 T. honey, if adding vanilla do so after the caramel has cooked – maybe 1/2 tsp. per jar.
  3. Seal jars, and place in crockpot. Completely cover jars with water. Make sure there is at least 1 inch of water above the jars.
  4. Cook on low for 8 hours.
  5. Carefully remove jars, let cool, store in refrigerator.

Obviously this makes a pretty good amount. Delight your neighbors with a jar of homemade caramel sauce!

 

 

Leave a Reply

