6. adventurous eaters

20131105-182221.jpg
Some tomatoes and cucumbers to accompany the Falafel Meatball Pitas with Tzatziki we had last night. Dense, moist meatballs of ground beef and chickpeas lovingly placed on a pita and dressed up with a lemony yogurt and feta sauce (tzatziki). Monday night we had Moroccan Chicken Tagine with Apricot Couscous. The chicken coated with warm spices, and garnished with salty green olives that contrasted nicely with the sweet fruity taste of the couscous.
I love that my family is willing to try new things! I love that no one complains when I attempt another country’s cuisine. I’ve been lucky that the boys were never picky eaters. The college boys may forget to say “I love you.” or ” I miss you.” sometimes, but I know that’s what they are really saying when they say they miss my cooking.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. batspit says:

    I literally made this for dinner tonight– minus the meat and tzatziki (which I never forgave for being in the fridge while I had morning sickness). Now that Archie has discovered eating he seems willing to try everything, which makes everything easier. He even likes olives and spicy curry (which his dad does NOT like, so I feel like I’m winning something).
    So, my tzatziki doesn’t have feta in it– I’ll have to send you the recipe.

  2. amyks says:

    I want to come to your house for dinner. Our family was just discussing variety in our dinner menu last night and my 11 year old son asked if he was a “foodie” because he likes to try new things, such as buffalo, duck, antelope. Weird, but I can’t get him to eat a raw tomato or cucumber to save my life. My girls are less adventurous eaters, but they will eat nearly every vegetable, cooked or uncooked, go figure!

Leave a comment